top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Jones

Current Update



Apologies for the lack of posts! I’m aware I’m so far behind on story, I’ve been suffering with the side effects of chemotherapy and any moment I feel well, I’ve been spending with the family. But I thought I’d give you a little update as to where I’m up to at the moment.


Choriocarsinoma is found after pregnancy when women have an abnormally high HCG hormone level. This level goes up during pregnancy and back down after birth to 2 or below. If it remains high it’s the indication of cancer. My levels when I got to Sheffield were 42,000.


Because the cancer is on the bone of the spine also, this was something they hadn’t seen frequently in Choriocarcinoma so could only treat it as ‘possible Choriocarcinoma’, but went ahead with chemotherapy treatment to act fast to attempt to start reducing it. They said if they see a flare in my HCG then it means it's responded.


After the first dose of chemotherapy there was a significant raise to my HCG level to 216,000. This was a good sign as it showed the cancer is responding to the treatment.


For anyone who would like to know my chemotherapy plan, it runs in a two weekly cycle;


Week 1 - Intrathecal, This is a needle in the spine with a small dose of Methotrexate, this is only 6 doses and it targets the legions on the brain. They remove a small amount of fluid whilst performing the procedure and test that for HCG also. During the last procedure they said that the HCG is dropped and it's all a lot more normal. Praise God! This is always on a Thursday, and on the Friday I get hooked up to the fluid chemotherapy in my PICC line ( semi permanent line in my arm to make it easier taking bloods and giving chemo without constant cannulas). This chemotherapy is called EP and usually runs for about 10 hours. Even though this is a the shorter running chemo, this one makes me feel the most poorly, very tired and nausea.


Week 2 - Methatrexate, This one is the longest running chemo for about 40 hours (not 100% sure the exact time as it feels like forever so I don't ask!) and is called EMA. This one starts on a Friday as the chemotherapy running through the PICC have to be a week apart, which is great as it means between week 1 and 2 I'm home a little longer but I usually feel worse then when I'm home for the shorter time! But I've only got 2 more Intrathecals so I can't complain. This chemo I usually feel less tired and a lot less nauseous, the only side effect that usually really bothers me is mouth ulcers - I have an insane amount of mouth washes and a different toothpaste and soft headed toothbrush, I feel like an alchemist clinking my glass bottles in the bathroom! Meal times often end up in a mouthful of food, then swilling out with a mouthful of water to stop the stinging! I've had thrush in the mouth twice now which is so frustrating, so praying against that in the weeks to come.


In the last 8 weeks they have dropped all the way down to 4! This is amazing especially as we are aiming for 2 or below! Once I get to a low enough number I can start an 8 week consolidation period - then hopefully cancer free at the end!


A couple of weeks ago my numbers stuck at 12, which was a little disheartening but it was decided by the team that maybe it’s best to re-scan and get some confirmation that the cancer is reducing and we got just that - After an MRI and CT you can see the significant reduction on cancer cells and some there may just be dead tissue cells. Thank God for a huge answer to prayer! We thought maybe treatment would have had to change and possible surgery or biopsies, but after this week we are much more reassured and nothing like that is needed!


Hearing that there is a significant reduction in the cancer is so reassuring, it's so hard leaving Luke and the children every week and it felt hard to be sure the cancer was reducing, even though my HCG is reducing its nice to actually see it on the scans (maybe that's a hint from God to stop wanting to see to believe!).


I'm so thankful to have such a powerful body of prayer warriors behind me during this season in my life, my family's life! We have been so overwhelmed and blessed. From people cooking hot meals and delivering them to the door ready to serve, the dog being walked, washing being done, help with the children, driving me to Sheffield and back, to the encouraging messages and cards. The list is endless of things we are thankful for and the people we need to thank, but the most important one is the people who are praying. God's working hard in this situation. Remembering that in the shadow there has to be a light.





195 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wellspring Church YouTube

Evening all! I hope everyone is well and keeping safe? I’ve shared my testimony on my Church YouTube and thought I’d share the link incase you fancied a listen! These are strange times, but it’s so im

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page